2022 United Nations Public Service Awards (UNPSA)

The United Nations is now accepting nominations for the 2022 United Nations Public Service Awards (UNPSA). The UNPSA promotes and rewards innovation and excellence in public services in support of the realization of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and the principle of leaving no one behind. 

The Award illustrates that sustainable development and effective governance are built on a competent public service. It is a prestigious international recognition of excellence in public service and rewards the achievement and contributions of public service institutions that lead to a more effective and responsive public administration in countries worldwide. 

Nominations for the 2022 UNPSA are invited in four categories: 1) Fostering innovation to deliver inclusive and equitable services; 2) Enhancing the effectiveness of public institutions to reach the SDGs; 3) Promoting gender-responsive public services to achieve the SDGs; and 4) A special category on institutional resilience and innovative responses to the COVID-19 pandemic.  

The winning initiatives will be recognized on the United Nations Public Service Day which aims to celebrate the value and virtue of public service to the community during the United Nations Public Service Forum in June 2022.   

Nominations can be completed online at: https://publicadministration.un.org/en/UNPSA by 3 December 2021. Submission rules and the online application form are available in the six official languages of the United Nations. However, all nominating organizations are encouraged to provide voluntary translations of their nominations in one of the working languages of the United Nations Secretariat, which are English and French.

For more information, contact UNPSA@un.org 

Thursday, 14 October 2021 

12:00 – 1:00 PM (EDT) 

Virtual Event 

Register here: https://forms.office.com/r/jdm02E8tmB 

A briefing session on the 2022 United Nations Public Service Awards (UNPSA) programme will be held virtually on 14 October at 12:00 PM  EDT to provide overview of the programme and share past winners’ insight on the impact of the Award and how it has helped to promote innovation in their local and national governments. 

en English